new to nappies + milk

Hi all i am supermom…or at least that’s what i call myself as some of you might also do 😉

I have two tater tots (4 1/2 year old girl and 2 1/2 year old boy) (thing 1 and thing 2)

Thing 1 was born with amniotic band syndrome causing malformation on all four of her limbs. She has clubfoot on her right foot and is an amputee on left below her knee and wears a prosthetic. Her right hand has shortened fingers but are otherwise normal and her left hand was bound into a fist at birth but has since been surgically separated. But don’t let any of that fool you into thinking there is anything she can’t do!!! She has a strong personality and adapts to just about whatever is thrown at her. Her favorite things to do are color and play with her brother (i.e. fight lol)

Thing 2 on the other hand is a normal typical 2 year old stubborn boy. He likes to run and throw and and run and flip and run and dance and has a funny way of watching TV (he likes to flip upside down on the couch and watch TV while standing on his head) and oh did i mention he likes to run??? His favorite toys are puzzles and trucks.

Meanwhile I am a stay-at-home mom while my amazing man goes to work and school full time and supports our little family. I spend my days taking care of them and the house while working on broadening my crafty business Dark Side of the Spool. I like to crochet and sew and work on random other crafty projects. All most all of them i work on just randomly come to mind so i will work on several to put into my Etsy shop and post on Facebook.

Anyway just wanted to say hello for my first post and tell you a bit about me and my family. I will be posting about taking care of the tater tots and sometimes the things i have been working on for my crafty business while being buried under the tater tots.

Welcome to my adventure 🙂

Tilly & Lana

I am new to motherhood.  By the time I had hit 31, my family had given up on me ever having children but little did they know, I still intended on starting a family but only after I was done traveling and getting my career situated.  At the age of 34 I delivered Lana after a long, 36 hour, induction.  She is now a happy and healthy, nine month old baby. 

We live in Southern California and enjoy reading, swimming, traveling, the park, being outside and Gymboree together.  I am a full time working mom and share responsibilities with my husband.  My position at work is technical and in senior management.  Lana is cared for by a family member during the time I am at the office.